Why I may be the most ‘exciting’ musician you have never heard of…

I have been called, by one of my adversaries, “the most exciting musician since Mozart,” but you have never heard of me.  How can this possibly be?  I can tell you that from my perspective this experience has been exhausting and frustrating in the extreme.  It has taken me a long time to have any clear understanding of what could be happening.

When I began to play the flute seriously I was overwhelmed with joy at the opportunity of studying with a Principal Flute player in a good orchestra.  I knew I had an wonderful sound.  A diamond in the rough, so to speak.  My teacher had fabulous technique.  The first time I heard him play I stood up instinctively, in the middle of a piece. Fortunately, I was on the first row in the balcony at Orchestra Hall, so I obstructed only a few people.  The notes he played were so clear — even the ends of the notes were beautiful — like petals on an exotic flower.

But my experience quickly began to turn into a nightmare, and I didn’t know why.  Later, “Monostatos” came into our lives.  I was encouraged to practice on the darkened stage at Orchestra Hall.  Players crawled out of the woodwork and said the most amazing things, then turn and ran.  Nothing seemed to make sense…

Then “Monostatos” ran away from our house, tail between their legs, never to return.  “Monostatos” insisted that I find a guardian for my children ‘in case something happened’ to me.  That was my first clue.

I was being locked-out.  I was probably also being slandered and libeled, bullied into silence.

And so this has continued even to this day.  Apparently, I am not supposed to have a voice.  I felt that I was being treated ‘as though I was already dead.’ Apparently, those who were in agreement with this were waiting for something to happen.  And perhaps still are…

One response to “Why I may be the most ‘exciting’ musician you have never heard of…

  1. Pingback: New post at my other blog… | Le Chant du Rossignol…(song of the nightingale)·

Leave a Reply

