The prophetic opera Die Zauberflote and what I am calling ‘Minnegeddon’…:-0

If you dare to look at Wolfgang Mozart’s last major opera, Die Zauberflote, as prophecy, instead of simply a sublime singspiel, you cannot help but begin to understand what Wolf was really all about and why he had to be silenced.  Here in the Midwest, in the 21st century, the entire opera has come to life.  Right now, we are at the equivalent of the last major fight scene between the Queen of the Night, Monostatos (and his orchestra) are coming up against Sarastro and his loyal brethren.  My husband, my longest best friend Brad (Papageno) and I (Pamina) are making our way through the last of the trials.  We are exhausted, and a bit worn around the edges, but alive and resilient.

The extraordinary lovely power of the flute has brought us through every difficulty and each seemingly impossible test.  My only regret, at this point, is that my three dear children (now grown) are not with me.  They have been spun out of the vortex and are, artistically speaking,  currently being held captive by the (second) Queen of the Night, who happens to be my sister.  Ironically, in the opera, there is no mention of what happens to the three children; simply that they are there to help Pamina survive the separation from Tamino.  The reality has been much more traumatic than I would have wished.  Just the same, they are the best people I know, and I have faith that all will work for good in the end…so bear with us…:-)

Leave a Reply

