Who or what is “Monostatos”? :-0

In my posts you will find references to “Monostatos”.  Monostatos was, in Mozart’s prophetic opera The Magic Flute, a wicked servant in the temple of Sarastro, Pamina’s step-father.  Monostatos terrorizes Pamina. Monostatos is obsessed with Pamina.  Only Sarastro, stepping in at the last minute, saves Pamina from his wicked wiles.

When I talk about “Monostatos” I am basically making reference to my time on the darkened stage at Orchestra Hall and those involved with that.  So, to some extent, the term “Monostatos” represents the group of players that crawled out of the woodwork to try to flatter me in order to destroy me and die zauberflote.  The first member of the group was my flute teacher, who was at the time Principal Flute of the Orchestra.  Rather than acknowledge what he was really experiencing he sent me on various rabbit trails and, among other things, seemed to go out of his way to try to blame me for the change in the Orchestra’s name (at the time, that made no sense at all).  He is now deceased. Another member of Monostatos was a timpanist, also deceased.  There was also a trumpet player, now retired, and a horn player still performing with another orchestra.  Then there was the string player, who not only tried to destroy me but targeted my children.  If I speak of “Monostatos” as one person, it is him. This person is still with the Orchestra, and, for that reason, I at times refer to the ensemble as “Monostatos’ Orchestra”, as it is my thinking that he is the one who led them astray.  There is also involvement with another orchestra — hence, “Monostatos’ Other Orchestra”.

How happy we were before Monostatos...:-0

How happy we were before Monostatos…:-0

Leave a Reply

