I thought we would grow old together…M4B*

bluexmas2016I felt that I had been looking for Donner Brown for a good part of my life.  We crossed paths many times when we both lived in New York City (his hometown) but never met.  I even stopped regularly outside the open doors of the Metropole jazz bar to listen to the great music.  I never went in though.  Donner was often inside, downstairs, playing the guitar.

Ironically, it was not jazz, but the assassination of President Kennedy that ultimately brought us together.  I was posting a controversial theory about the limousine on a newsgroup, and Donner was the only one standing up for me.  When we did meet I realized that life had hammered us down but that we were lucky to have found one another.  Along with the overwhelming sadness of losing him suddenly this May, ironically, on JFK’s birthday, comes an equally powerful sense of gratitude.

I thought we would grow old together, a little Jewish couple (Donner was born a Jew), confessing Hebrew scriptures under a prayer shawl, but that was not to be.  Donner was saved.  He loved Jesus, so I know where he is.  It is my wish to create a living memorial to him by dedicating this concert to him.  I hope you will join me.  (I took that photo of Donner in Dallas, on the roof of the Grand Hotel.)

*M4B=Mozart For Believers

 

One response to “I thought we would grow old together…M4B*

Leave a Reply

